» Details

The Mission of the Scholar

Wolfe, Michael P. / Pryor, Caroline R. (eds.)

The Mission of the Scholar

Research and Practice – A Tribute to Nelson Haggerson
Foreword by Maxine Greene

Series: Counterpoints - Volume 183

Year of Publication: 2002

New York, Bern, Berlin, Bruxelles, Frankfurt/M., Oxford, Wien, 2002. XII, 251 pp., ill.
ISBN 978-0-8204-5237-1 pb.  (Softcover)

Weight: 0.370 kg, 0.816 lbs

available Softcover
  • Softcover:
  • SFR 33.00
  • €* 28.80
  • €** 29.60
  • € 26.90
  • £ 22.00
  • US$ 34.95
  • Softcover

» Currency of invoice * includes VAT – valid for Germany and EU customers without VAT Reg No
** includes VAT – only valid for Austria


Book synopsis

The Mission of the Scholar: Research and Practice – A Tribute to Nelson Haggerson is a collection of essays that examines the multiple definitions and descriptions of the scholar’s work. This book reflects on what constitutes scholarly work and highlights the important perspectives of each scholar’s beliefs and practices in conducting research. The Mission of the Scholar serves as a mentor for the next generation of scholars.


Contents: Robin McTaggart: Action Research Scholar. The Role of the Scholar in Action Research – Betty E. Steffy/Michael P. Wolfe: Conceptual Scholar. Understanding the Challenges Facing Career Classroom Teachers – Caroline R. Pryor: Practitioner Scholar – David C. Berliner: Empirical Scholar. In Search of Warrant – John Smyth: Critical Scholar. Exploring the Critical Politics of Teaching – Nelson L. Haggerson, Jr.: Mytho-Poetic Scholar – Lee Bach: Heuristic Scholar. Heuristic Inquiry and the Heuristic Scholar – Walter W. Feinberg: Philosophical Scholar. Methodists and Marxists: Learning to Ask Philosophical Questions – Louis M. Smith: Biographical Scholar. Nora, Charlie, and Me: A Biographical Journey – Barbara E. Thiering: Theological Scholar – William H. Watkins: Multicultural Scholar – Patrick Slattery/Rebecca McElfresh: Spiritual Scholar. Toward a Theology of Aesthetic Liberation – David Geoffrey Smith: Hermeneutic Scholar – Zeno M. Johnson III: Bibliographic Scholar. A Review of Selected Writings by Nelson L. Haggerson, Jr.

About the author(s)/editor(s)

The Editors: Michael P. Wolfe is Executive Director of Kappa Delta Pi, the International Honor Society in Education. He is a former university professor and administrator in teacher education and has authored numerous journal articles and books. His research interests include school reform, creating a positive school climate for enhancing self-concept, and teacher-induction practices. He has co-authored books such as Critical Incidents in School Administration and The Lifecycle of the Career Teacher, as well as book chapters entitled «The Future of Teacher Education» and «Models of Mentoring Practices in Teacher Education».
Caroline R. Pryor is Assistant Professor and Regents Fellow at Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, and coordinator of the university’s elementary and middle school social studies program. Her current research interests focus on pre-service teachers’ perspectives on democratic practice. Her recent publications include Philosophy of Education Workbook: Writing a Statement of Beliefs and Practices and Democratic Classroom Workbook: Practices and Activities for the Field Experience. Dr. Pryor is the recipient of the 1997 Best Paper Award from the Arizona Educational Research Organization.


Counterpoints: Studies in the Postmodern Theory of Education. Vol. 183
General Editors: Joe L. Kincheloe and Shirley R. Steinberg