» Details

Doing Theology When God is Forgotten

Ziegler, Philip G.

Doing Theology When God is Forgotten

The Theological Achievement of Wolf Krötke

Series: Issues in Systematic Theology - Volume 14

Year of Publication: 2007

New York, Bern, Berlin, Bruxelles, Frankfurt am Main, Oxford, Wien, 2007. X, 253 pp.
ISBN 978-0-8204-7874-6 hardback  (Hardcover)

Weight: 0.580 kg, 1.279 lbs

available Hardcover
 
  • Hardcover:
  • SFR 81.00
  • €* 71.60
  • €** 73.60
  • € 66.90
  • £ 54.00
  • US$ 86.95
  • Hardcover

» Currency of invoice * includes VAT – valid for Germany and EU customers without VAT Reg No
** includes VAT - only valid for Austria

Discipline

Book synopsis

Wolf Krötke is widely acknowledged to be the most important theologian to emerge from the struggle of the churches in the former East Germany. Working creatively in the tradition of Karl Barth and Dietrich Bonhoeffer, he reconsiders the contours of Christian faith in face of the challenges posed by the regnant atheism and cultural disestablishment that continue to shape the cultural landscape of Eastern Germany. This book explores in detail Krötke’s contributions to contemporary reflection upon the identity of God, humanity, and the Christian church and, in so doing, sheds light upon questions of theological method important in any context.

About the author(s)/editor(s)

The Author: Philip G. Ziegler is Lecturer in Systematic Theology at the University of Aberdeen, Scotland. He holds degrees in theology from Victoria University, the University of St. Michael’s College, Regis College, and the University of Toronto. Prior to assuming his current post, he was a postdoctoral research fellow at Princeton University’s Center for the Study of Religion, and he taught for several years at the Atlantic School of Theology in Halifax, Canada. In addition to scholarly editing and translating, he is the author of published essays in the fields of doctrinal and public theology as well as theological ethics. At present, he is writing a book, Dietrich Bonhoeffer – Theologian of the Word of God.

Reviews

«Philip G. Ziegler has written a highly readable and highly compelling introduction to the theology of Wolf Krötke, a prominent Protestant theologian from Eastern Germany, whose work is known far too little in the English-speaking world. Ziegler masterfully demonstrates how Krötke, taking seriously a world that has grown forgetful of God, recommends not retreat into vague religiosity or spirituality, but rather attention to the concrete possibilities for human freedom and faithfulness that the Christian gospel itself sets forth. This book will be of interest not only to students of contemporary European church history but also, and especially, to theologians who care about the church and seek clear impulses for its theological renewal.» (John Burgess, James Henry Snowden Associate Professor of Systemic Theology, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary)
«Philip G. Ziegler’s first major offering fills a gap in the available literature on East German theology. His splendid book is a groundbreaking work introducing the main aspects of a systematic theology developed in the former GDR and, after 1989, under the conditions of fledgling freedom and democracy. With this valuable contribution Ziegler finds a place among the foremost scholars in the field of German – especially East German – theology. The author has done much to promote challenges put to the contemporary scene by the theology developed in an era of socialist dictatorship. The whole book will be a treasure for everyone wanting to know what it was, and still really is, like to do Christian theology in a situation of mass practical-atheism.» (Wolf Krötke, Professor Emeritus, Humboldt Universität, Berlin)

Series

Issues in Systematic Theology. Vol. 14
General Editor: Paul D. Molnar