The Mabo Turn in Australian Fiction wins ASAL’s Alvie Egan Award 2019

July 9, 2019

We are pleased to announce that The Mabo Turn in Australian Fiction by Geoff Rodoreda has won the Association for the Study of Australian Literature‘s Alvie Egan Award 2019! The winner was announced at ASAL’s annual conference in Perth on 2-5 July 2019.

The award is for the best first book of literary scholarship by an early career researcher (ECR) on an Australian subject, published in the preceding two calendar years. 

 Published in 2018, The Mabo Turn in Australian Fiction is the first volume in the Australian Studies: Interdisciplinary Perspectives series edited by Anne Brewster.  This is the first in-depth, broad-based study of the impact of the Australian High Court’s landmark Mabo decision of 1992 on Australian fiction. It takes a closer look at nineteen contemporary novels – including works by David Malouf, Alex Miller, Kate Grenville, Thea Astley, Tim Winton, Michelle de Kretser, Richard Flanagan, Alexis Wright and Kim Scott – in order to define and describe Australia’s literary imaginary as it reflects and articulates post-Mabo discourse today.