Funding Opportunities

Funding to publish your work Gold Open Access is available from a wide range of sources, and we are pleased to provide a list of relevant funding opportunities for your information below. 

Please note that the list is by no means exhaustive and authoritative, but will be expanded and continually updated on a regular basis. If you are aware of any Open Access funding opportunities in the Humanities and Social Sciences that you would like us to update or include, please do not hesitate to contact us.
We are also delighted to support you with finding the right funder for your project and help you submit your application. Just email us – we look forward to hearing from you!


Funding Institutions:

Anniversary Fund of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank (OeNB) 

Austrian Partnership Programme in Higher Education & Research for Development (APPEAR) – no further calls for application are envisaged until the end of the current programme phase in 2020

Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG)

Austrian Science Fund (FWF)

Commission for Development Research at the OeAD-GmbH (KEF)

Office of the Regional Government of the Province of Styria  – information available in German only



Academy of Fine Arts Vienna

Johannes Kepler University Linz

University of Salzburg

University of Vienna


Further information:

Austrian Database for Scholarships and Research Grants



Funding Institutions:

Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique



Funding Institutions:

European Research Council (ERC)

EU Programmes:

Horizon 2020



Funding Institutions:

Academy of Finland

Kone Foundation

Federation of Finnish Learned Societies

Joint Committee for Nordic Research Councils in the Humanities and Social Sciences (NOS-HS)

Ministry of Education and Culture of Finland

National Institute for Health and Welfare (THL)




Aalto University

 Åbo Akademi University

Helsinki University

University of Jyväskyla

University of Lapland

University of Tampere

University of Turku


Further information:




Funding Institutions:

Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) – only universities can apply

Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

Leibniz Open Access Publishing Fund

Max Planck Society

Technical University Berlin

Volkswagen Stiftung


Special Programmes:

Project Open Access Monographs in the Humanities and Social Sciences



Technical University of Dortmund

Technical University of Munich

University of Applied Sciences Darmstadt

University of Bamberg

University of Bayreuth

University of Bielefeld

University of Duisburg-Essen

University of Bochum

University of Bremen

University of Erlangen-Nuremberg

University of Freiburg

University of Gießen

University of Göttingen

University of Heidelberg

University of Hohenheim

University of Kassel

University of Konstanz

University of Leipzig

University of Mainz

University of Marburg

University of Münster

University of Oldenburg

University of Passau

University of Potsdam

University of Regensburg

University of Stuttgart

University of Tübingen

University of Ulm

University of Würzburg



Funding Institutions:

Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR)

World Health Organization



Funding Institutions:

FORTE – Swedish Research Council for Health, Working Life and Welfare

Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation

Östersjö-Stiftelsen – The Foundation for Baltic and East European Studies

Ragnar Söderberg Foundation

Riksbankens Jubileumsfond – The Swedish Foundation for Humanities and Social Sciences

Swedish Research Council



Lund University

Malmö University

Stockholm University


Further information:




Funding Institutions:

Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences (SAGW)

Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences

Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)



University of Geneva

University of Zurich (UZH)


Further information:



United Kingdom:


Leverhulme Trust

Nuffield Foundation

Wellcome Trust

Wolfson Foundation


Funding Institutions:

Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)

British Academy for the Humanities and Social Sciences

Department for International Development (DFID)

Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)

Expanding Excellence in England (E3) Fund


REF 2021 of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI):

Department for the Economy, Northern Ireland (DfE)

Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (HEFCW) / Cyngor Cyllido Addysg Uwch Cymru

Research England (formerly part of the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE))

Scottish Funding Council (SFC)



University of Aberdeen

Aberystwyth University

Anglia Ruskin University

Aston University

Bangor University

University of Bath

Birkbeck, University of London

University of Birmingham

Bournemouth University

University of Bristol

Brunel University London

University of Cambridge

City University of London

University College London

DeMontfort University, Leicester

University of Dundee

Durham University

University of East Anglia

University of Edinburgh

University of Exeter

University of Glasgow

Heriot Watt University

University of the Highlands and Islands

University of Huddersfield

University of Hull

Imperial College London

University of Kent

Lancaster University

University of Leicester

University of Liverpool

London School of Economics

Loughborough University

University of Manchester

Manchester Metropolitan University

Newcastle University

Northumbria University

University of Nottingham

Nottingham Trent University

University of Oxford

University of Portsmouth

Queen Mary University of London

Queen’s University Belfast

University of Reading

University of Salford

University of Sheffield

University of Southampton

University of St Andrews

St George’s, University of London

University of Stirling

University of Strathclyde

University of Surrey

University of Sussex

Swansea University

Ulster University

University of Warwick

University of the West of England

University of Westminster

University of Worcester

University of York