Show Less
Restricted access


The Divide & Conquer Election of 2012


Edited By Dianne G. Bystrom, Mary C. Banwart and Mitchell S. McKinney

alieNATION presents research conducted by a national election team and leading scholars in political communication that explores a range of important topics and variables affecting voter attitudes and behavior in the 2012 U.S. presidential election.
In exploring the messages, issues, and voters of the 2012 election, these studies employ multiple methods including experimental design, content analysis, rhetorical criticism, and survey research. Whereas other election research tends to investigate either the content or effects of campaign communication, the more comprehensive and systematic nature of this collection enables alieNATION to cohere thematically around considerations of voter alienation, political engagement, political efficacy, and ultimately, citizens’ voting decisions.
Show Summary Details
Restricted access


← X | XI → Acknowledgments


alieNATION: The Divide and Conquer Election of 2012 continues the collaborative efforts of a nationwide team of political communication scholars and researchers. We believe such collaborative efforts are essential to the study of political campaign communication. And, we are pleased with our thematic approach to the study of the 2012 presidential election.

The editors wish to thank our contributing authors who wrote chapters for this volume as well as the members of our national research team who coordinated the collection of data on their university campuses. We thank the following members of our 2012 election team, listed alphabetically by university:

Auburn University, Mike Milford; Emerson College, J. Gregory Payne; Georgia College and State University, Kristin N. English; Iowa State University, Dianne G. Bystrom; Kutztown University, Glenn Richardson; Marquette University, Sumana Chattopadhyay; Ohio University, Jerry Miller and J. W. Smith; Radford University, Scott Dunn; Rhodes College, Amy E. Jasperson and Bob Johnson; Texas State University-San Marcos, John Payne and Hyun Jung Yun; University of Georgia, Itai Himelboim, Anandam Kavoori, and Kaye D. Sweetser; University of Kansas, Mary C. Banwart and Kelly L. Winfrey; University of Memphis, Seth Abrutyn, Eric Groenendyk, and Anna Mueller; University of Missouri, J. Brian Houston, Mitchell S. McKinney, and Benjamin R. Warner; University of Nevada-Reno, Leslie A. Rill; University of Texas-San Antonio, ← XI | XII → Andrea Aleman and Mary McNaughton-Cassill; and Worcester State University, Amy Ebbeson. We also acknowledge the contributions of John C. Tedesco, Virginia Tech University, in helping organizing this...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.