Show Less
Restricted access

Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration


Edited By Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel

This Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration is the first encyclopaedia which combines two so far not well interconnected interdisciplinary research fields, i.e. Border Studies and European Studies. Organised in an alphabetical order, it contains 207 articles written by 115 authors from different countries and scientific disciplines which are accompanied by 58 maps. The articles deal with theory, terminology, concepts, actors, themes and spaces of neighbourhood relations at European borders and in borderlands of and around the European Union (EU). Taking into account a multi-scale perspective from the local to the global, the Critical Dictionary follows a combined historical-geographical approach and is co-directed by Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel, with a large contribution of Jean Peyrony and Jean Rubio from the Mission opérationnelle transfrontalère (MOT), especially for the cartography. The Dictionary is also part of four Jean Monnet activities supported by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union for the period 2016-2022: two Jean Monnet projects on EU border regions (University Strasbourg), one Jean Monnet network (Frontem) and the Franco-German Jean Monnet excellence Center in Strasbourg, as well as the Jean Monnet Chair of Bernard Reitel on borders and European integration. Rather than being designed as an objective compilation of facts and figures, it should serve as a critical tool for discussion between researchers, students and practitioners working in the field of borders, cross-border cooperation and European Integration.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Regio Insubrica



The Regio Insubrica is a working community which was established in Varese on 19 January 1995 as a private law association under the 1980 European Outline Convention on Transfrontier Cooperation between Territorial Communities or Authorities. It is named after the Insubri, a Celtic population who inhabited three pre-Alpine lake districts (Lario, Ceresio and Verbano) in the 5th and 6th century BC, choosing Mediolanum (what is now Milan) as their capital.

The Regio Insubrica has always been committed to developing an awareness of the similarities shared by the region. It aims to promote cross-border cooperation through joint planning as a way of enhancing economic growth, transportation, communications, environmental practices, tourism and culture within the three Italian-Swiss pre-Alpine lake districts, as well as fostering a sense of belonging to a territory that shares the same social and cultural identity. It also provides practical solutions to current problems and strives to eliminate obstacles. At the same time, it supports authorities and institutions without interfering in their activities, thus respecting their individual identities.

The presidential board is comprised of the Republic and Canton of Ticino and the regions of Lombardy and Piedmont; while the board of directors is composed of the Canton of Ticino, the two Italian regions, the city of Lugano and the provinces of Como, Varese, Lecco, Verbano Cusio Ossola and Novara. In addition to these, it comprises 80 members, including municipalities with special cross-border interests, economic and cultural associations, and university institutes. The representatives of...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.