Show Less
Restricted access

Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration


Edited By Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel

This Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration is the first encyclopaedia which combines two so far not well interconnected interdisciplinary research fields, i.e. Border Studies and European Studies. Organised in an alphabetical order, it contains 207 articles written by 115 authors from different countries and scientific disciplines which are accompanied by 58 maps. The articles deal with theory, terminology, concepts, actors, themes and spaces of neighbourhood relations at European borders and in borderlands of and around the European Union (EU). Taking into account a multi-scale perspective from the local to the global, the Critical Dictionary follows a combined historical-geographical approach and is co-directed by Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel, with a large contribution of Jean Peyrony and Jean Rubio from the Mission opérationnelle transfrontalère (MOT), especially for the cartography. The Dictionary is also part of four Jean Monnet activities supported by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union for the period 2016-2022: two Jean Monnet projects on EU border regions (University Strasbourg), one Jean Monnet network (Frontem) and the Franco-German Jean Monnet excellence Center in Strasbourg, as well as the Jean Monnet Chair of Bernard Reitel on borders and European integration. Rather than being designed as an objective compilation of facts and figures, it should serve as a critical tool for discussion between researchers, students and practitioners working in the field of borders, cross-border cooperation and European Integration.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Rhine-Meuse North Euregion


The Euregion Rhine-Meuse-North is located across the border of the Netherlands and Germany, and consists of the north and central part of the Dutch province of Limburg and part of the German state North Rhine-Westphalia. The border of the north and central part of Limburg and North Rhine-Westphalia is formed by the rivers Meuse and Rhine, which are directly connected with the name of the Euroregion Rhine-Meuse-North. In the north, the Euroregion borders the Euroregion Rhine-Waal with which it partly overlaps in the Kleve district. In the south, it borders the Meuse-Rhine Euroregion.

The border between the Dutch and German part of the Euroregion is roughly 80 km. This border starts in the north between the municipalities ←695 | 696→Kevelaer in Germany and Gennep in the Netherlands and follows in a southern direction the official border. The shape of the border mirrors the river Meuse, which is a few km away. It ends in the south, between the Selfkant (German) and Echt-Susteren (Dutch). The Euroregion counts 30 member organisations, on the Dutch side, 13 Dutch municipalities with the Dutch chamber of commerce (until the end of 2018), and on the German side 14 local governments and 2 regional chambers of commerce. It covers an area containing more than 2.4 million inhabitants, 1.4 million jobs and more than 100 000 companies. With a span of about 3 400 km2, today, the Euroregion belongs to the most densely populated Euroregions on the German-Dutch border.

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.