Show Less
Restricted access

Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration


Edited By Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel

This Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration is the first encyclopaedia which combines two so far not well interconnected interdisciplinary research fields, i.e. Border Studies and European Studies. Organised in an alphabetical order, it contains 207 articles written by 115 authors from different countries and scientific disciplines which are accompanied by 58 maps. The articles deal with theory, terminology, concepts, actors, themes and spaces of neighbourhood relations at European borders and in borderlands of and around the European Union (EU). Taking into account a multi-scale perspective from the local to the global, the Critical Dictionary follows a combined historical-geographical approach and is co-directed by Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel, with a large contribution of Jean Peyrony and Jean Rubio from the Mission opérationnelle transfrontalère (MOT), especially for the cartography. The Dictionary is also part of four Jean Monnet activities supported by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union for the period 2016-2022: two Jean Monnet projects on EU border regions (University Strasbourg), one Jean Monnet network (Frontem) and the Franco-German Jean Monnet excellence Center in Strasbourg, as well as the Jean Monnet Chair of Bernard Reitel on borders and European integration. Rather than being designed as an objective compilation of facts and figures, it should serve as a critical tool for discussion between researchers, students and practitioners working in the field of borders, cross-border cooperation and European Integration.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access



Slovakia is an Eastern European state which acceded during the first enlargement of the European Union (EU) to the east in 2004. It has an area of 48 845 km2, and shares land borders with Austria (91 km), Poland (444 km), Hungary (677 km) and the Czech Republic (252 km). The border with Ukraine (97 km) is an external border of the EU. The only navigable waterway in Slovakia is the Danube, which is also partly the border with Hungary on 150 km. Slovakia was formed in 1993 as a consequence of the partition of Czechoslovakia, resulting in the creation of two new states, the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

When Great Moravia was invaded by the Hungarians in 907, the Slovaks were placed under Hungarian rule. Slovakia was later absorbed into the Ottoman Empire, which occupied Hungary in 1541. Following the establishment of the Dual Monarchy of Austria-Hungary in 1861, Slovakia remained under Hungarian control. The history of Slovakia became interconnected with that of the Czech Republic after World War I. Czechoslovakia was formed in 1918 under President Wilson’s 14-point program, bringing together the Czechs, Slovaks and Ruthenes from the old Austro-Hungarian Empire. The newly independent state also included a large German and Hungarian minority. The borders of Czechoslovakia were defined in succession under the 1919 Peace Treaties, but were contested in the interwar period, especially by Nazi Germany, which annexed the Sudetenland in 1938. The first secession in the country occurred during World...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.