Show Less
Restricted access

Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration


Edited By Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel

This Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration is the first encyclopaedia which combines two so far not well interconnected interdisciplinary research fields, i.e. Border Studies and European Studies. Organised in an alphabetical order, it contains 207 articles written by 115 authors from different countries and scientific disciplines which are accompanied by 58 maps. The articles deal with theory, terminology, concepts, actors, themes and spaces of neighbourhood relations at European borders and in borderlands of and around the European Union (EU). Taking into account a multi-scale perspective from the local to the global, the Critical Dictionary follows a combined historical-geographical approach and is co-directed by Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel, with a large contribution of Jean Peyrony and Jean Rubio from the Mission opérationnelle transfrontalère (MOT), especially for the cartography. The Dictionary is also part of four Jean Monnet activities supported by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union for the period 2016-2022: two Jean Monnet projects on EU border regions (University Strasbourg), one Jean Monnet network (Frontem) and the Franco-German Jean Monnet excellence Center in Strasbourg, as well as the Jean Monnet Chair of Bernard Reitel on borders and European integration. Rather than being designed as an objective compilation of facts and figures, it should serve as a critical tool for discussion between researchers, students and practitioners working in the field of borders, cross-border cooperation and European Integration.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Trinational Eurodistrict of Basel



Cross-border cooperation has a long tradition in the trinational area of Basel. The Regio Basiliensis was created in 1963, followed by the RegioTriRhena e.V. in 1995 and the Association pour le développement durable de l’Agglomération Trinationale de Bâle (ATB), which was renamed in 2007 as the Trinational Eurodistrict of Basel (TEB). By 2018, the TEB had 81 members consisting of 51 Swiss, 16 French and 15 German local authorities. The TEB is an association established according to French law that consists of the following bodies: the assembly, the steering committee that embodies the member’s executive power, and the district’s council that reflects the legislative power of the Swiss and German members and brings together the representatives of the parliaments of the Swiss Cantons Basel-Stadt and Basel-Landschaft, as well as the county council of the Landkreis Lörrach on the German side. On the French side, members of the district’s council are mayors or members of communal government.

The aim of TEB is to reinforce the cross-border region of Basel and to promote this trinational region for its inhabitants. The TEB has at its disposal a budget, an administration with three employees and a project manager for each of its projects, all together ensuring the functioning of the TEB, its bodies, and its projects. In 2009, the TEB established a branch according to Swiss legislation, the Internationale Bauaustellung (IBA) agency, that manages the International Exhibition of Architecture (IBA Basel 2020), which is involved in...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.