Show Less
Restricted access

Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration


Edited By Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel

This Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration is the first encyclopaedia which combines two so far not well interconnected interdisciplinary research fields, i.e. Border Studies and European Studies. Organised in an alphabetical order, it contains 207 articles written by 115 authors from different countries and scientific disciplines which are accompanied by 58 maps. The articles deal with theory, terminology, concepts, actors, themes and spaces of neighbourhood relations at European borders and in borderlands of and around the European Union (EU). Taking into account a multi-scale perspective from the local to the global, the Critical Dictionary follows a combined historical-geographical approach and is co-directed by Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel, with a large contribution of Jean Peyrony and Jean Rubio from the Mission opérationnelle transfrontalère (MOT), especially for the cartography. The Dictionary is also part of four Jean Monnet activities supported by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union for the period 2016-2022: two Jean Monnet projects on EU border regions (University Strasbourg), one Jean Monnet network (Frontem) and the Franco-German Jean Monnet excellence Center in Strasbourg, as well as the Jean Monnet Chair of Bernard Reitel on borders and European integration. Rather than being designed as an objective compilation of facts and figures, it should serve as a critical tool for discussion between researchers, students and practitioners working in the field of borders, cross-border cooperation and European Integration.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Dublin System for Asylum Seekers


External borders of the European Union (EU) are a space of categorization of migrants to establish their status and therefore their right to enter the EU or to return in their country of origin according to the well-known “Return” Directive. The EU has developed three main categories of migrants: legal migrants, illegal migrants and asylum seekers.

The asylum seekers are subject to the Dublin Regulation of the EU. It is the corollary to the Schengen Convention which guarantees internal free circulation among the EU member states. Indeed, with a system of internal mobility and the suspension of internal border controls, the management of the external border had to be commonly assured. The Dublin Convention was first elaborated on an intergovernmental basis in the framework of the European Community (EC); it has been signed on 15 June 1990 by its member states and entered into force in September 1998. The Dublin Convention was mainly established to define not a common, but a “concerted” asylum procedure for the EU member states. This so-called Dublin system has not been invented to adopt a refugee friendly Community regime, but rather, from a security point of view of the national states, it is part of the security border policy in order to prevent irregular mobility of migrants in the Schengen Area.

Indeed, the Dublin Convention was conceived as an intergovernmental tool, where the EU Council stayed competent and unanimity decision-making was the rule. Its main purpose was to guarantee...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.