Show Less
Restricted access

The String Quartet in Spain


Christiane Heine and Juan Miguel González Martínez

This is the first monograph from a scientific perspective dealing with the String Quartets composed in Spain from the eighteenth century up to the present. It is the outcome of the research and thorough study of specific works, undertaken by twenty-one musicologists, archivers and performers, together with four Spanish composers. It aims both to offer an overview of the current state of research on the primary and secondary sources available, and to trace the history of the genre by examining its genesis, development and reception in the European context. All this fosters an understanding of: (1) the position of the genre in Spain from its emergence until nowadays, (2) its aesthetics and main compositional features in each period, (3) its idiosyncratic peculiarities, and (4) the particular challenges that it has posed along its history. In addition, other goals are: to banish some prejudices about Spanish chamber music, to contribute to the recuperation of a significant part of the Spanish musical heritage, and to provide scholars and performers with the musical sources, aiming at facilitating the knowledge and diffusion of a corpus of noteworthy yet barely known works.

Der Band befasst sich mit der Entwicklung des Streichquartetts in Spanien vom achtzehnten Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart. Er enthält 24 Studien zu Komponisten und konkreten Werken aus unterschiedlicher Perspektive und gibt Auskunft über die bis dato lokalisierten Primär- und Sekundärquellen.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access

El Cuarteto en Sol (1936–1937) de Francisco Escudero: ¿un programa secreto? (Itziar Larrinaga Cuadra)



El Cuarteto en Sol (1936–1937) de Francisco Escudero: ¿un programa secreto?


El género del cuarteto de cuerda ha servido a compositores como Bedřich Smetana, Leoš Janáček, Alban Berg o Dmitry Shostakovich para la expresión de vivencias muy íntimas. Los Cuartetos n.º 1 –De mi vida (1876)–, n.º 2 –Cartas íntimas (1928)–, Suite lírica (1925–1926) o el Cuarteto n.º 8 (1960) de los respectivos autores son casos que ejemplifican cómo un género que habitualmente se asocia con la música absoluta puede comportar una programática autobiográfica: desde el trazo del curso de una vida a través del sonido –es el caso de Smetana y el de Shostakovich– hasta la representación de las etapas en las que sucede una relación amorosa, intensa y prohibida –es el caso de Janáček y Berg–.

Las obras citadas han adquirido un nuevo significado gracias a fuentes privadas: véanse las cartas de Smetana y Shostakovich a sus correspondientes amigos de confianza Josef Srb-Debrnov e Isaak Glikman o las de Janáček y Berg a Kamila Stösslová y Hanna Fuchs-Robettin, con quienes mantuvieron respectivamente una relación extra conyugal. Particularmente excepcional fue la recuperación en 1977 por parte de Georg Perle de una copia de la primera edición de la Suite Lírica minuciosamente anotada por Alban Berg, proveniente del legado de Hanna Fuchs-Robettin –hermana del...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.