Show Less
Restricted access

The German «Lied» after Hugo Wolf

From Hans Pfitzner to Anton Webern


Lesley-Ann Brown

Following the development of the German Lied after the nineteenth century – when it was widely known as the setting of Romantic poetry to music – this book explores the changing artistic scene in the early twentieth century, as rapid social, economic and environmental changes affected German cultural production. The Lied then faced not only a crisis of identity, but also a threat to its survival. This book considers the literary and musical ideas that both challenged and complemented each other as new directions in songwriting were developed across the modern period.
The composers selected for their relevance in Lieder composition during this time illustrate not only the diversity of their musical thought but also a changing approach to the relationship between the poetic text and its musical counterpart. Hans Pfitzner represents the determination to maintain established tradition; subsequently, a chronological progression through the individuality of Paul Hindemith and social integrity of Hanns Eisler leads to the point where transformation of the genre can be said to have begun, with Arnold Schönberg. With the Lieder of Alban Berg and Anton Webern, the genre arrived at a point of convergence with the ideals of German modernism. This study offers new insights into the cultural significance of German songwriting in the first part of the twentieth century.
Show Summary Details
Restricted access




Music Scores

BERG, Alban, 1960. Zwei Lieder. Vienna: Universal.

BERG, Alban, 1997. Musikalische Werke. Vol 6, Orchestergesänge. Vienna: Universal.

BRAHMS, Johannes, [no date]. Lieder für eine Singstimme mit Klavierbegleitung. Vol. 1. New York: Peters.

EISLER, Hanns, 1976. Gesammelte Werke. Serie1 Vol. 16, Lieder mit Klavierbegleitung. Ed. EISLER, Stephanie, GRABS, Manfred. Leipzig: VEB Deutscher Verlag für Musik.

EISLER, Hanns, 2009. Gesamtausgabe. Serie 3 Vol. 1, Lieder für Singstimme und Klavier 1917–1901. Ed. RITTIG-BECKER, Julia, MARTIN-SCHMIDT, Christian. Wiesbaden: Breitkopf & Härtel.

HINDEMITH, Paul, 1922. Lieder mit Klavier opus 18. Mainz: Schott.

HINDEMITH, Paul, 1924. Das Marienleben: Gedichte von Rainer Maria Rilke für Sopran und Klavier opus 27. Mainz: Schott.

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.