Show Less

Antoni Szałowski

Person and Work


Elzbieta Szczurko

«(This book) is the first extensive study of the works of Antoni Szałowski, which provide a clear example of the adaptation of the principles of Neoclassicism and the norms of Nadia Boulanger. The heritage of the émigré composers – generally speaking not well known, scattered, or absent from national musical life for many years – requires a comprehensive research approach in order to restore it to its rightful place within Polish music. This is the direction taken in this work, where the monographic form is a fitting framework for the presentation of the characteristics, the context and the significance of Szałowski’s achievement – a subject never undertaken before.» (Prof. Dr. D. Jasińska, Adam Mickiewicz University of Poznań, Poland)
«The structure of the book as a whole is logical and cohesive. The uniform approach to constructing chapters and subchapters is undoubtedly of great value. Each new section begins with a theoretical or historical introduction, depending on the topic discussed, and is then followed by the discussion of the issues raised. The reader gains the impression that the author is firmly grounded in the literature of the subject in its widest sense.» (Prof. Dr. T. Malecka, Academy of Music in Kraków, Poland)


Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Catalogue of works by Antoni Szałowski


Catalogue of the works of Antoni Szałowski The compositions have been arranged in a chronological and in a systematic order. The catalogue is based on the available scores of Szalowski’s works, which are held mainly in Warsaw and in Paris. A list of his works made by the com­ poser towards the end of his life, and an index of manuscripts held by the Na­ tional Library in Warsaw, edited by Wanda Bogdany and published in “Muzyka” in 1977, have also been used. These documents have also been compared with the list of compositions published in „Ruch Muzyczny” in 1973, and with an index preserved at the Library of Polish Composers’ Union in Warsaw. Szalowski’s own list of works proved to be extremely valuable. It includes nearly all the compositions, from the earliest (Trio for violin, cello and piano from 1926) to the last one (Sześć Szkiców [Six sketches] for chamber orchestra completed in 1972). Alongside the titles (mainly the Polish version) and dates of writing, Szalowski also very often provides information about the first per­ formance, editions, presentation at festivals or awards received. In addition, he takes note of editorial changes, lists commissions and dedications, gives the duration of a work and indicates which compositions have been withdrawn. Szalowski’s list omits drafts of works, as well as his Kolędy [Carols] for voice and organ, Musique de Brasserie for chamber orchestra and 4 Indicatifs for orchestra. These items were included in the catalogue on the basis of...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.