Show Less
Restricted access

Alice Munro: Reminiscence, Interpretation, Adaptation and Comparison


Edited By Mirosława Buchholtz and Eugenia Sojka

Canadian writer Alice Munro is the 2013 Nobel Laureate in Literature. This collection of essays by authors from Poland, Canada and France presents an intercultural perspective on her work and a new approach to Munro’s art of short story writing. It offers literary interpretation of the genre, critical perspectives on film and stage adaptations of her work, comparative analysis to the writings of Mavis Gallant and Eudora Welty, exclusive reminiscences of encounters with Alice Munro by Canadian writers Tomson Highway and Daphne Marlatt, and a unique African-Canadian perspective on Munro’s work by George Elliott Clarke.
Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Intercultural Encounters with Alice Munro. Introduction


The opening concert of Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra in its 2015–16 season will premier Alice Munro’s last short story collection, Dear Life (2012), as “a multi-media immersive experience,” “a form of sonic reincarnation” of the writer’s “vision of childhood in small-town Ontario” contrasted with “the Romantic European perspective on a child’s vision of heaven as expressed in Mahler’s Symphony No. 4.”1 Alexander Shelley, current NAC Orchestra Music Director, made this intriguing announcement while also expressing desire to share with the audience his passion and delight in Canadian literature, art and film. This intersemiotic translation of Dear Life into a narrative as soundscape creating conditions for visceral enjoyment and pleasure in Munro’s writing, coincides with the rationale behind our project which also aims at achieving a unique immersive experience of “listening” to and taking pleasure and enjoyment in the art of the 2013 Nobel Laureate in Literature. To show the complexity of Munro’s life and work as commented upon, translated and transmuted through the imagination of contributors representing a variety of cultural backgrounds, we have planned a collection of texts for which, following the music metaphor, we adopted a symphonic structure with such four distinct sections or movements as Reminiscence, Interpretation, Adaptation and Comparison.

The musical genre of symphony in general denotes pluralism, which in this collection relates not only to the variety of readings and methodologies proposed by the contributors from Poland, France and Canada, but also to pluralistic perspectives on reality offered...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.