Show Less
Restricted access

Classroom Struggle

Organizing Elementary School Teaching in the 19th Century

Series:

Edited By Marcelo Caruso

During the institutionalization of mass schooling in the 19 th century, teaching large groups of children became both a necessity and a matter of regulation. For officials and inspectors the systematization of classroom interactions was important for effective results. However, while systematization could bring about the constant attention of children and their uninterrupted work, interactions themselves were difficult to control. Rationalized models of classroom organization provided alternatives for managing large groups before age grading became the dominant pattern of organizing interactions. The contributions in this volume explore diverse paths of transition towards modern classroom organization in different countries, allowing transnational perspectives and comparisons.
Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Authors

Extract



Baeza, Andrés (PhD Candidate), Department of Hispanic, Portuguese and Latin American Studies, University of Bristol/UK. Cultural history of British-Chilean relations, history of education of the independence time: afbaeza@gmail.com

Bandini, Gianfranco (PhD, Associate Professor), Department of Education and Psychology, University of Florence/Italy. History of modern Italian education; historiography of education: Gianfranco.bandini@unifi.it

Caruso, Marcelo (PhD, Full Professor), Institute of Education, Humboldt-University of Berlin/Germany. Transnational history of education; history of power and technologies in schooling: marcelo.caruso@hu-berlin.de

Chamon, Carla Simone (PhD, Full Professor), Centro Federal de Educação Tecnológica de Minas Gerais/Brazil, history of Brazilian education, history of schooling in Minas Gerais: carlachamon@terra.com.br

Depaepe, Marc (PhD, Full Professor), Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences, University Leuven/The Netherlands. History of European and colonial education, historiography of education: marc.depaepe@kuleuven-kulak.de

Eble, Till (PhD Candidate), Institute of Education, Humboldt-University of Berlin/Germany. History of Spanish education in the 19th century: till.eble@hu-berlin.de

Larsen, Jesper Eckhardt (PhD, Associate Professor), Department of Education, University of Agder/Norway. History of educational ideas, comparative and international history of education: jesper.e.larsen@uia.no

Larsson, Esbjörn (PhD, Lecturer), Institute of Pedagogy, Didactics and Educational Studies, Uppsala University/Sweden. History of Swedish education in the 19th century, economy and education in history: Esbjorn.Larsson@edu.uu.se

Manique da Silva, Carlos (PhD, Research Fellow), Institute of Education, University of Lisbon/Portugal. History of Portuguese education in the 19th century; history of educational technologies: manique@net.sapo.pt

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.