Show Less
Restricted access

Order and Design

Henry James's Titled Story Sequences


Prof. Richard P. Gage

Contents: James's titled story collections - Terminations, Embarrassments, The Two Magics, The Soft Side, The Better Sort, and The Finer Grain - are organized to suggest the titles. Volume Eighteen of the «New York Edition» is similarly sequenced.
This study examines a new Jamesian Form differing form the nouvelle and the novel - the story sequence.