Show Less
Restricted access

The Pulitzer Prize Winners for Music

Composer Biographies, Premiere Programs and Jury Reports

Heinz-Dietrich Fischer

Established in 1943, the prestigious Pulitzer Prize for music went to many of America’s top composers, like Aaron Copland, Gian-Carlo Menotti, Samuel Barber, Gunther Schuller and others. This volume tells the history of the annual decision-making processes until reaching the final results, based on jury reports which are published here for the very first time in full length. In addition, the book presents biographical sketches of the winners as well as facsimile reproductions of the premiere programs, showing in which context each award-winning work had its world premiere.
Contents: Pulitzer Prizes for music, 1943-2009 – Short biographies of the annual winners – Facsimiles of printed premiere programs – Complete reproductions of jury reports – Overview of the decision-making processes year by year.