Show Less
Restricted access

Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration


Edited By Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel

This Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration is the first encyclopaedia which combines two so far not well interconnected interdisciplinary research fields, i.e. Border Studies and European Studies. Organised in an alphabetical order, it contains 207 articles written by 115 authors from different countries and scientific disciplines which are accompanied by 58 maps. The articles deal with theory, terminology, concepts, actors, themes and spaces of neighbourhood relations at European borders and in borderlands of and around the European Union (EU). Taking into account a multi-scale perspective from the local to the global, the Critical Dictionary follows a combined historical-geographical approach and is co-directed by Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel, with a large contribution of Jean Peyrony and Jean Rubio from the Mission opérationnelle transfrontalère (MOT), especially for the cartography. The Dictionary is also part of four Jean Monnet activities supported by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union for the period 2016-2022: two Jean Monnet projects on EU border regions (University Strasbourg), one Jean Monnet network (Frontem) and the Franco-German Jean Monnet excellence Center in Strasbourg, as well as the Jean Monnet Chair of Bernard Reitel on borders and European integration. Rather than being designed as an objective compilation of facts and figures, it should serve as a critical tool for discussion between researchers, students and practitioners working in the field of borders, cross-border cooperation and European Integration.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Euroregion Nišava



Euroregion Nišava is a network of legal entities on both sides of the border, represented by the Association “Ponisavlje” from Pirot (Serbia) and the Association “Nišava” from Sofia (Bulgaria). The Euroregion Nišava was founded with the support of the partner organisations, i.e. the Hans Seidel Foundation, a German non-profit organization founded by the Bavarian conservative party CSU and the citizens’ reading room PIRGOS Udruženje, an association based in Pirot. The agreement on the formation of the Euroregion Nišava was signed in June 2005. The Euroregion Nišava encompasses 10 municipalities, 4 from the District of Pirot from Serbia (Babušnica, Bela Palanka, Dimitrovgrad and the city of Pirot), and 6 from the province of Sofia from Bulgaria (Božurište, Dragoman, Godeč, Kostinbrod, Slivnica and Svoge). It covers a territory of around 4770 km2 and gathers a population around 163 000 inhabitants.

The Euroregion Nišava is located in the heart of the Balkans two Trans-European Transport Networks pass through the territory of the Euroregion: Orient/East-Med connecting the ports of the North, Baltic, Black and Mediterranean Seas; Rhine-Danube connecting the Rhine river with the Black Sea through continental Europe. Another important axis is going through the area connecting Istanbul to western Europe: the Balkans route was the main axis taken by refugees and migrants during the so-called migrant crisis in Europe in 2015, which corresponds to a former roman road (the Via Militaris), which connected Europe and Asia.


You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.