Show Less
Restricted access

Scottish Literature

An Anthology- Volume II

David D. McCordick

This is Volume II of the first comprehensive anthology of English-language Scottish Literature, one which covers all literary genres except the novel, and all periods. This volume includes 188 Scottish writers from about 1775 through Robert Louis Stevenson. Among its over 700 works are the complete texts of such verse classics as The Siller Gun, The Har'st Rig, The Sabbath, The Pleasures of Hope, and The City of Dreadful Night, major prose fiction like The Golden Key and The Library Window, and the novelettes The Penance of John Logan, and Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Intended for both the general reader and the student of literature, it contains introductions, notes and marginal glosses.