Loading...

Doing Theology When God is Forgotten

The Theological Achievement of Wolf Krötke

by Philip Ziegler (Author)
Monographs X, 253 Pages
Series: Issues in Systematic Theology, Volume 14

Summary

Wolf Krötke is widely acknowledged to be the most important theologian to emerge from the struggle of the churches in the former East Germany. Working creatively in the tradition of Karl Barth and Dietrich Bonhoeffer, he reconsiders the contours of Christian faith in face of the challenges posed by the regnant atheism and cultural disestablishment that continue to shape the cultural landscape of Eastern Germany. This book explores in detail Krötke’s contributions to contemporary reflection upon the identity of God, humanity, and the Christian church and, in so doing, sheds light upon questions of theological method important in any context.

Details

Pages
X, 253
ISBN (Hardcover)
9780820478746
Language
English
Published
New York, Bern, Berlin, Bruxelles, Frankfurt am Main, Oxford, Wien, 2007. X, 253 pp.

Biographical notes

Philip Ziegler (Author)

The Author: Philip G. Ziegler is Lecturer in Systematic Theology at the University of Aberdeen, Scotland. He holds degrees in theology from Victoria University, the University of St. Michael’s College, Regis College, and the University of Toronto. Prior to assuming his current post, he was a postdoctoral research fellow at Princeton University’s Center for the Study of Religion, and he taught for several years at the Atlantic School of Theology in Halifax, Canada. In addition to scholarly editing and translating, he is the author of published essays in the fields of doctrinal and public theology as well as theological ethics. At present, he is writing a book, Dietrich Bonhoeffer – Theologian of the Word of God.

Previous

Title: Doing Theology When God is Forgotten