Show Less

History of English Literature, Volume 8

From the Late Inter-War Years to 2010


Franco Marucci

History of English Literature is a comprehensive, eight-volume survey of English literature from the Middle Ages to the early twenty-first century. Volume 8 begins with the 1920s, beginnign with works by W. H. Auden and George Orwell. Discussion includes the works of Beckett, Doris Lessing, Murdoch, Heaney, Rushdie, Ian McEwan and more.


Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Part I Writers against Totalitarian Regimes


Part I Writers against Totalitarian Regimes § 3. Auden* I: The burnt-out meteor. Militancy and disengagement in the leader of the poets of the 1930s 1 The literary decade of 1930–1940 is dominated by Wystan Hugh Auden (1907–1973), who was head and...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.