Show Less
Restricted access

Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration


Edited By Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel

This Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration is the first encyclopaedia which combines two so far not well interconnected interdisciplinary research fields, i.e. Border Studies and European Studies. Organised in an alphabetical order, it contains 207 articles written by 115 authors from different countries and scientific disciplines which are accompanied by 58 maps. The articles deal with theory, terminology, concepts, actors, themes and spaces of neighbourhood relations at European borders and in borderlands of and around the European Union (EU). Taking into account a multi-scale perspective from the local to the global, the Critical Dictionary follows a combined historical-geographical approach and is co-directed by Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel, with a large contribution of Jean Peyrony and Jean Rubio from the Mission opérationnelle transfrontalère (MOT), especially for the cartography. The Dictionary is also part of four Jean Monnet activities supported by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union for the period 2016-2022: two Jean Monnet projects on EU border regions (University Strasbourg), one Jean Monnet network (Frontem) and the Franco-German Jean Monnet excellence Center in Strasbourg, as well as the Jean Monnet Chair of Bernard Reitel on borders and European integration. Rather than being designed as an objective compilation of facts and figures, it should serve as a critical tool for discussion between researchers, students and practitioners working in the field of borders, cross-border cooperation and European Integration.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Euroregion Pradziad/Praděd



The Euroregion Pradziad located in the Polish-Czech border area comprises the communes and districts of the Opolskie Province (Poland) and the communes of the Jesenik and Bruntal Districts (Czech Republic). The majority of the Euroregion is located in the territory of Poland (5200 km2 and 673 000 inhabitants), while the Czech part covers 1900 km2 and has a population of 126 000. The Pradziad Euroregion area is inhabited by fewer than 100 Czech nationals on the Polish side and approximately 400 Polish nationals on the Czech side. The Euroregion’s name derives from the highest peak in the Jeseniky – Pradziad (Praděd).

The Polish-Czech border in the Euroregion Pradziad is one of the most permanent historical borders in Europe. The borderline was determined in the Peace Treaty of 1763 between Prussia and Austria. The states on either side of the border have shifted over time, from a Czech-German border following World War I, to become the Czech-Polish border after World War II. Under communist regimes in Poland and Czechoslovakia the border was severely controlled, with even local border traffic from residents of the border villages becoming restricted. It is still a border with quite few border crossing points, with low population density and mountainous terrain.

Initially on the Czech initiative, Polish-Czech integration projects were implemented in 1991, such as conferences of Polish-Czech representatives of the border communes. The first step to establish the Euroregion was a declaration made during a conference in Jesenik (28 September...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.