Show Less
Restricted access

Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration


Edited By Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel

This Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration is the first encyclopaedia which combines two so far not well interconnected interdisciplinary research fields, i.e. Border Studies and European Studies. Organised in an alphabetical order, it contains 207 articles written by 115 authors from different countries and scientific disciplines which are accompanied by 58 maps. The articles deal with theory, terminology, concepts, actors, themes and spaces of neighbourhood relations at European borders and in borderlands of and around the European Union (EU). Taking into account a multi-scale perspective from the local to the global, the Critical Dictionary follows a combined historical-geographical approach and is co-directed by Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel, with a large contribution of Jean Peyrony and Jean Rubio from the Mission opérationnelle transfrontalère (MOT), especially for the cartography. The Dictionary is also part of four Jean Monnet activities supported by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union for the period 2016-2022: two Jean Monnet projects on EU border regions (University Strasbourg), one Jean Monnet network (Frontem) and the Franco-German Jean Monnet excellence Center in Strasbourg, as well as the Jean Monnet Chair of Bernard Reitel on borders and European integration. Rather than being designed as an objective compilation of facts and figures, it should serve as a critical tool for discussion between researchers, students and practitioners working in the field of borders, cross-border cooperation and European Integration.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Mura Region



The Mura Region European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) began in 1993 through the cooperation of municipalities as a regional self-government partnership within the framework of the Muramenti Nationality Regional Development Association (which mostly unites settlements with significant Croatian minority in Hungary). The creation of the Mura Region EGTC, situated along the Croatian-Hungarian border, was heavily supported by a successful Interreg IV-A project titled Mura Region EGTC. The EGTC was officially registered by the court 28 May 2015 with a seat situated in Tótszerdahely, Hungary. The grouping consists of 21 local governments cooperating with each other. The founders include the settlements of Tótszerdahely, Eszteregnye, Fityeház, Molnári, Murakeresztúr, Petrivente, Rigyác, Semjénháza, Szepetnek, Tótszentmárton, Valkonya from Zala County, and the municipalities of Donja Dubrava, Donji Vidovec, Goričan, Kotoriba and Doni Kraljevec from Međimurje County. Letenye, Bázakerettye from Hungary and Legrad, Sveta Marija, Orehovica from Croatia joined later. The Croatian language is primarily used as the language of cooperation, but the documents of the EGTC are prepared in both languages, in Hungarian and Croatian languages.

The cooperation has had its situation analysis and integrated development strategy elaborated. The strategy has the following interventions: creating a cross-border business platform, interventions on the development of townscape, social bridge which would strengthen the cooperation between generations, the creation of organisational frames of complex rural development, agro-centred rural development, local product programme regional-scale and near-natural tourism, and green energetics.

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.