Show Less
Restricted access

Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration


Edited By Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel

This Critical Dictionary on Borders, Cross-Border Cooperation and European Integration is the first encyclopaedia which combines two so far not well interconnected interdisciplinary research fields, i.e. Border Studies and European Studies. Organised in an alphabetical order, it contains 207 articles written by 115 authors from different countries and scientific disciplines which are accompanied by 58 maps. The articles deal with theory, terminology, concepts, actors, themes and spaces of neighbourhood relations at European borders and in borderlands of and around the European Union (EU). Taking into account a multi-scale perspective from the local to the global, the Critical Dictionary follows a combined historical-geographical approach and is co-directed by Birte Wassenberg and Bernard Reitel, with a large contribution of Jean Peyrony and Jean Rubio from the Mission opérationnelle transfrontalère (MOT), especially for the cartography. The Dictionary is also part of four Jean Monnet activities supported by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union for the period 2016-2022: two Jean Monnet projects on EU border regions (University Strasbourg), one Jean Monnet network (Frontem) and the Franco-German Jean Monnet excellence Center in Strasbourg, as well as the Jean Monnet Chair of Bernard Reitel on borders and European integration. Rather than being designed as an objective compilation of facts and figures, it should serve as a critical tool for discussion between researchers, students and practitioners working in the field of borders, cross-border cooperation and European Integration.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access




The Arrabona European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) was first established in 2011 by the municipalities of Győr and Mosonmagyaróvár in Hungary, and Dunajská Streda and Šamorín in Slovakia. Arrabona EGTC currently includes 32 municipalities, 4 of which are located in Slovakia and 28 in Hungary and it has its seat in Györ, the sixth largest city of Hungary, whose old roman name was Arrabona.

The EGTC operates on the territory of the member municipalities, and includes a population of approximately 200 000 inhabitants in an area of more than 860 km2. A large majority of the inhabitants of the two involved Slovakian cities possesses Hungarian nationality. According to the 2011 census in Slovakia, 75 % of the inhabitants of Dunajská Streda and 57 % of Šamorín declared themselves as Slovakian citizens with a Hungarian nationality.

The operation of the EGTC is based on the General Assembly, the major decision-making body composed of members which meets once a year. The chairman and the three vice-chairs are elected by the General Assembly for a mandate of four years. The chairman acts as a representative and as a leader of the EGTC.

In a long-term perspective, the EGTC aims to sustain the ecological balance of the Danube Valley and to facilitate the development of the social and technological infrastructure of its operational area. It also runs a non-profit enterprise that is responsible for elaborating and managing projects. The...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.