Show Less

Devolution, Asymmetry and Europe

Multi-Level Governance in the United Kingdom


Rosanne Palmer

The process of devolution in the United Kingdom (UK) established new institutions at the sub-state level with a range of legislative and executive competencies. Yet many of these devolved powers also have a European Union (EU) dimension, whilst EU policy remains a formally reserved power of the UK central government.
This book explores how this multi-level relationship has been managed in practice, examining the participation of the devolved Scottish and Welsh institutions in the domestic process of formulating the UK’s EU policy positions during their first four-year term. It also places their experiences in a broader comparative framework by drawing upon the experiences of multi-level governance in practice in other Member States of the EU.


Show Summary Details
Restricted access

List of Abbreviations 9


List of Abbreviations ACs Autonomous Communities (Spain) AM Assembly Member (Wales) CLRAE Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of Europe CO Cabinet Office COES Cabinet Office European Secretariat CoR Committee of the Regions COSLA Convention of Scottish Local Authorities CSG Consultative Steering Group (Scotland) DEFRA Department of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (formerly MAFF) DETR Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions (subsequently DTLR) DfEE Department for Education and Employment (subsequently DfES) DfES Department for Education and Skills DGN Devolution Guidance Note DTI Department of Trade and Industry DTLR Department of Transport, London and the Regions EC European Community EEAD European and External Affairs Division (Wales) ESG European Strategy Group (Wales) EU European Union FCO Foreign and Commonwealth Office GM Genetically Modified IGC Inter-Governmental Conference JMC Joint Ministerial Committee JMC(E) Joint Ministerial Committee (Europe) MAFF Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food Minecor Ministerial Group for European Co-ordination MoU Memorandum of Understanding MSP Member of the Scottish Parliament 9 NAAG National Assembly Advisory Group NAW National Assembly for Wales REGLEG Conference of European Regions with Legislative Power SE Scottish Executive SEA Single European Act SEERAD Scottish Executive Environment and Rural Affairs Division SNP Scottish National Party SP Scottish Parliament SSA Sub-state Authority TEU Treaty an European Union UK United Kingdom UKRep United Kingdom Permanent Representation to the European Union WAG Welsh Assembly Government WEC Wales European Centre 10

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.