Show Less
Restricted access

Tadeusz Baird. The Composer, His Work, and Its Reception


Barbara Literska

This book is the first monographic study of Tadeusz Baird – one of the greatest Polish composers of the second half of the 20th century, a connoisseur of music tradition and a prophet of the future of music (postmodernity), a composer of worldwide renown, an erudite. Baird was deeply engaged in art, aware of the threats and problems of contemporary world, and endowed with a sense of a mission. His personality was shaped by traumatic experiences during World War II and during the late 1940s and early 1950s. He was very demanding of himself and others. As signaled in the title, the book is an extensive, monographic representation of the composer's work and concepts in their stylistic, cultural, and esthetic contexts.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access

List of Tables


Schema 1: Colas Breugnon, movt I. Prelude – rondo design

Schema 2: Colas Breugnon, movt I. Prelude – two-part design

Schema 3: Ballada o żołnierskim kubku [Ballad of the soldier’s cup] – structural outline

Schema 4: Sinfonietta, movt I – structural outline

Schema 5: Sinfonietta, movt I – detailed structural outline

Schema 6: Cztery eseje [Four essays], movt I. Molto adagio, first (prime) series

Schema 7: Cztery eseje [Four essays], movt I. Molto adagio, secondary series

Schema 8: Cztery eseje [Four essays], movt I. Molto adagio – structural outline

Schema 9: Cztery eseje [Four essays], movt II. Allegretto grazioso, prime series

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.