Show Less

Transgressing Boundaries in Jeanette Winterson’s Fiction


Sonia Front

The subsequent chapters of the book deal with selected questions from Jeanette Winterson’s fiction, such as gender issues, love and eroticism, language and time, constituting areas within which Winterson’s characters seek their identity. As they contest and repudiate clichés, stereotypes and patterns, their journey of self-discovery is accomplished through transgression. The book analyzes how the subversion of phallogocentric narrative and scenarios entails the reenvisaging of relations between the genders and reconceptualization of female desire. The author attempts to determine the consequences of Winterson’s manipulations with gender, sexuality and time, and her disruption of the binary system.


Show Summary Details
Restricted access

Introduction 9


Introduction 1 had no idea where to look, or what 1 was looking for, but I know now that all important journeys start that way. /Jeanette Winterson: Lighthousekeepingl Jeanette Winterson has been actively engaged in the concerns governing post- modern debates within cultural and literary studies. Her oeuvre includes novels: Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit (1985), Boating for Beginners (1985), The Pas- sion (1987), Sexing the Cherry (1989), Written on the Body (1992), Art&Lies. A Piece for Three Voices and a Bawd (1994), Gut Symmetries (1997), The Power- Book (2000) and Lighthousekeeping (2004); a short story "The Architect of Un- rest" (1989), a collection of short stories The World and Other Places (1998); unpublished short stories: "The Mistletoe Bride," "The White Room," "Roman Holiday," "The Snow Horse" and "How to Die" to be found at her official web- side; Weight (2005) constituting a part of "The Myths Series" written by different authors; children's stories: The King of Capri (2003) and Tanglewreck (2006); essays: "Dreams and Buildings" in Whose Cit- ies? edited by Mark Fisher and Ursula Owen (1992), "Jeanette Winterson" in The Pleasure of Reading, edited by Antonia Fraser (1992), "Virginia Woolf. Monks House, Rodmell, E. Sussex" in Writers and Their Houses. A Guide To the Writer's Houses of England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland, edited by Kate Marsh (1993); a collection of essays Art Objects. Essays on Ecstasy and Effrontery (1995); scripts: Static (1988), Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit: The Script (1990), Great Moments in Aviation...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.