Show Less

Interviewers’ Deviations in Surveys

Impact, Reasons, Detection and Prevention

Series:

Edited By Peter Winker, Natalja Menold and Rolf Porst

Survey data are used in many disciplines including Social Sciences, Economics and Psychology. Interviewers’ behaviour might affect the quality of such data. This book presents the results of new research on interviewers’ motivation and behaviour. A substantial number of contributions address deviant behaviour, methods for assessing the impact of such behaviour on data quality and tools for detecting faked interviews. Further chapters discuss methods for preventing undesirable interviewer effects. Apart from specific methodological contributions, the chapters of the book also provide a unique collection of examples of deviant behaviour and its detection – a topic not overly present in literature despite its substantial prevalence in survey field work. The volume includes 13 peer reviewed papers presented at an international workshop in Rauischholzhausen in October 2011.

Prices

Show Summary Details
Restricted access

List of Contributors

Extract

Ackermann, Daniela, Survey Design and Methodology, GESIS – Leibniz-Institute for the Social Sciences Mannheim, B2 1, 68159 Mannheim, daniela.ackermann@gesis.org Blasius, Jörg, Department of Political Science and Sociology, Rheinische Friedrich- Wilhelms-University Bonn, Lennéstrasse 27, 53113 Bonn, jblasius@uni-bonn.de Bredl, Sebastian, Department of Economics, Justus-Liebig-University Giessen, Licher Strasse 64, 35394 Giessen, sebastian.bredl@wirtschaft.uni-giessen.de Brüderl, Josef, Department of Sociology, Ludwig-Maximilians-University München, Kon- radstrasse 6, 80801 München, josef.bruederl@soziologie.uni-muenchen.de Gwartney, Patricia A., Department of Sociology, 613 PLC, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR 97403, pgwartney@gmail.com Haan, Marieke, Department of Communication and Information Sciences, University of Gro- ningen, Oude Kijk in 't Jatstraat 26, 9712 EK Groningen, marieke.haan@rug.nl Hülser, Oliver, GfK SE Marketing Science, Nürnberg, Nordwestring 101, 90149 Nürnberg oliver.huelser@gfk.com Huiskes, Mike, Department of Communication and Information Sciences, University of Gro- ningen, Oude Kijk in 't Jatstraat 26, 9712 EK Groningen, m.huiskes@rug.nl Huyer-May, Bernadette, Department of Sociology, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Mün- chen, Konradstrasse 6, 80801 München, bernadette.huyer-may@soziologie.uni- muenchen.de Jesske, Birgit, infas – Institute for Applied Social Sciences, Friedrich-Wilhelm-Strasse 18, 53113 Bonn, b.jesske@infas.de Kemper, Christoph J., Institute for Medical and Pharmaceutical Proficiency Assessment, Große Langgasse 8, 55116 Mainz, contact@christoph-kemper.net Martin, Silke, Survey Design and Methodology, GESIS – Leibniz-Institute for the Social Sci- ences Mannheim, B2 1, 68159 Mannheim, silke.martin@gesis.org Massing, Natascha, Survey Design and Methodology, GESIS – Leibniz-Institute for the So- cial Sciences Mannheim, B2 1, 68159 Mannheim, natascha.massing@gesis.org Menold, Natalja, Survey Design and Methodology, GESIS – Leibniz-Institute for the Social Sciences Mannheim,...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.