Show Less
Restricted access

The Theatre of Martin McDonagh

A World of Savage Stories


Edited By Lilian Chambers and Eamonn Jordan

With such plays as The Beauty Queen (1996), The cripple of Irishman (1997), The Lonesome West (1997), A skull in Connemara (1997), The Lieutenant of Irishmore (2001), and The Pillowman (2003) Martin McDonagh has made a huge reputation for himself internationally, winning multiple awards for his work and enjoying universal critical acclaim. Most recently, he won an Oscar for his short film, Six Shooter (2006).

This Collection of essays is a vital and significant response to the many challenges set by McDonagh for those involved in the production and reception of his work.

The volume brings together critics and commentators from around the world, who assess the work from a diverse range of often provocative approaches. What is not surprising is the focus and commitment of the engagement, given this controversial and stimulating nature of the work.

Whether for or against, this is an essential read for all who wish to enter the complex debate about Theatre of Martin McDonagh.

Table of contents