Show Less
Restricted access

The String Quartet in Spain


Edited By Christiane Heine and Juan Miguel González Martínez

This is the first monograph from a scientific perspective dealing with the String Quartets composed in Spain from the eighteenth century up to the present. It is the outcome of the research and thorough study of specific works, undertaken by twenty-one musicologists, archivers and performers, together with four Spanish composers. It aims both to offer an overview of the current state of research on the primary and secondary sources available, and to trace the history of the genre by examining its genesis, development and reception in the European context. All this fosters an understanding of: (1) the position of the genre in Spain from its emergence until nowadays, (2) its aesthetics and main compositional features in each period, (3) its idiosyncratic peculiarities, and (4) the particular challenges that it has posed along its history. In addition, other goals are: to banish some prejudices about Spanish chamber music, to contribute to the recuperation of a significant part of the Spanish musical heritage, and to provide scholars and performers with the musical sources, aiming at facilitating the knowledge and diffusion of a corpus of noteworthy yet barely known works.

Der Band befasst sich mit der Entwicklung des Streichquartetts in Spanien vom achtzehnten Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart. Er enthält 24 Studien zu Komponisten und konkreten Werken aus unterschiedlicher Perspektive und gibt Auskunft über die bis dato lokalisierten Primär- und Sekundärquellen.

Show Summary Details
Restricted access

El Cuarteto Indiano (1951) de Xavier Montsalvatge (Desirée García Gil)


← 702 | 703 →


El Cuarteto Indiano (1951) de Xavier Montsalvatge1


El músico catalán Xavier Montsalvatge (1912–2002) es una de las figuras de referencia dentro de la música contemporánea española por dos motivos fundamentales. En primer lugar, su catálogo compositivo se caracteriza por la gran variedad de estilos y géneros que lo conforman, como por ejemplo el ballet para dos pianos Barcelona Blues –escrito en 1956 y de clara influencia jazzística– y la Sonata concertante para violonchelo y piano de 1971 –basada en el uso de recursos seriales–.2 En segundo lugar, es destacable su importante labor como crítico musical, que desempeñó, entre otras, en la revista Destino desde 1939 hasta 1975, llegando a ser director de la misma,3 y en el periódico de tirada nacional La Vanguardia a partir de 1962.4 Además, debe tenerse en cuenta su labor como catedrático de composición en el Conservatorio Superior Municipal de Barcelona, donde ocupó este puesto entre 1970 y 1982.5 ← 703 | 704 →

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.