Show Less
Restricted access

R. F. Delderfield’s Novels as Cultural History

A Reader’s Companion

Victor J. Lams

This book begins with a survey of R. F. Delderfield’s knowledge of Napoleonic history as revealed in his three Napoleonic-era novels. Two commentaries follow: the first on English attitudes and actions in a London suburb during the Interbellum (1918-1939) in his novels The Dreaming Suburb and The Avenue Goes to War, and the second on his Craddock trilogy, set in Devonshire, dramatizing the English experience from the Boer War until the late 1960s.

Table of contents