Show Less

Strindberg - Other Sides

Seven Plays- Translated and introduced by Joe Martin- with a Foreword by Björn Meidal

Joseph Martin

Strindberg - Other Sides: Seven Plays presents fresh translations based upon the new national Swedish edition of Strindberg's works, hewing close to Strindberg's techniques of «scoring» his scripts for actors and directors. The plays are illuminated in introductory essays revaluating Strindberg's role in transforming theatre (and art) with his extraordinary new forms. The Ghost Sonata is a keystone in the construction of the expressionist theatre; in The Pelican Strindberg goes «over the top» with his own form of psychological drama until it soars beyond the realm of realism; The Dance of Death is a battle of the sexes rendered absurd, as a series of games played against the void; and Carl XII is an epic play portraying the last months of the king who brought Sweden's history as a great power to an end. Three one-acts from the late 1880s foreshadow the striking ambiguity of Strindberg's later works.


Show Summary Details
Restricted access



Foreword by Bjorn Meidal • vii Preface • xiii Introduction: Strindberg-A Revaluation • 1 The Plays Introduced • 25 • • • The Ghost Sonata • 57 The Pelican • 101 Carl XII • 145 The Dance of Death • 221 • • • Three One-Acts: Introduction • 295 The Stronger • 309 Pariah • 319 Simoom • 339 • • • Appendix: Toten-lnsel • 353 Notes to the Introductions: • 361 Notes to the Texts • 373 Production/Perfonnance Credits • 383 •••

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

This site requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

Or login to access all content.