Show Less
Open access

Transcultural Approaches to the Concept of Imperial Rule in the Middle Ages

Edited By Christian Scholl, Torben R. Gebhardt and Jan Clauß

During the Middle Ages, rulers from different regions aspired to an idea of imperial hegemony. On the other hand, there were rulers who deliberately refused to be «emperors», although their reign showed characteristics of imperial rule. The contributions in this volume ask for the reasons why some rulers such as Charlemagne strove for imperial titles, whereas others voluntarily shrank from them. They also look at the characteristics of and rituals connected to imperial rule as well as to the way Medieval empires saw themselves. Thus, the authors in this volume adopt a transcultural perspective, covering Western, Eastern, Northern and Southern Europe, Byzantium and the Middle East. Furthermore, they go beyond the borders of Christianity by including various caliphates and Islamic «hegemonic» rulers like Saladin.

Show Summary Details
Open access

List of Contributors

List of Contributors

PD Dr. Stefan Burkhardt

Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Historisches Seminar

Grabengasse 3–5

69117 Heidelberg

Stefan.Burkhardt@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de

Jan Clauß, M.Ed.

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Historisches Seminar

Domplatz 20–22

D-48143 Münster

jan.clauss@uni-muenster.de

Torben R. Gebhardt, M.A.

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Historisches Seminar

Domplatz 20–22

48143 Münster

torben.gebhardt@uni-muenster.de

Dr. Simon Groth

Max-Planck-Institut für Europäische Rechtsgeschichte

Hansaallee 41

60323 Frankfurt am Main

groth@rg.mpg.de

Tobias Hoffmann, M.A.

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Exzellenzcluster Religion und Politik

Domplatz 20–22

48143 Münster

t.hoffmann@uni-muenster.de←367 | 368→

Nadeem Khan, M.A.

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Exzellenzcluster Religion und Politik

Johannisstraße 1

D-48143 Münster

nadeem.khan@uni-muenster.de

Dr. Sebastian Kolditz

Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Historisches Seminar

Grabengasse 3–5

69117 Heidelberg

sebastian.kolditz@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de

Dr. Jessika Nowak

Max-Planck-Institut für Europäische Rechtsgeschichte

Hansaallee 41

60323 Frankfurt am Main

nowak@rg.mpg.de

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Roland Scheel

Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

Skandinavisches Seminar

Käte-Hamburger-Weg 3

37073 Göttingen

roland.scheel@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Dr. Christian Scholl

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Institut für Frühmittelalterforschung

Robert-Koch-Straße 29

48149 Münster

christian.scholl@uni-muenster.de

PD Dr. Grischa Vercamer

Freie Universität Berlin

Friedrich-Meinecke-Institut

Koserstr. 20

14195 Berlin

grischa.vercamer@fu-berlin.de←368 | 369→